Home
Historical Traversos
Repair & Overhaul Work
Contact
Links
Pfretzschner Kronach Workshop specialising in woodwind instruments

German version

Terms & Conditions | Imprint



Hotteterre Rippert Naust Rottenburgh Le Cler Grenser  
Denner Eichentopf Quantz Crone Wrede Piccolo

Denner Traverso 392 Hz / 415 Hz

around 1720

Jakob Denner (Nuremberg, 1707-1735) was the eldest son of the famous Johann Christoph Denner and learned his trade at his father's workshop. He was one of the very few who managed to break through the strict Nuremberg guild regulations and was accepted in the guild as a special master because of his musical abilities – without travelling years as a journeyman and without any examination!

Nearly 40 of his instruments, signed by himself, have been preserved. Among them is the flute, made of boxwood, with ivory rings, kept in the Germanic National Museum in Nuremberg. It is in its original state with the long corps de rechange in 392 Hz. By transforming you get a wonderful 415 Hz version with excellent intonation and a colourful sound spectrum.



An absolutely unique rarity is Denner's traverso made of ivory in the Germanic National Museum in Nueremberg. It is the only flute with a contemporary C foot which survived after 1945, and in all respects an extraordinary instrument. Although constructed in three pieces according to baroque French standard, Denner did not add any baroque woodturning on the headjoint and middlejoint. He created a flute which is at once plain and yet extremely elegant. In contrast to that body, the foot simply "explodes" with baroque wood decorations. The "brand-new" achievement of the C foot is emphasised in this way. All the ivory that is used creates a distinctive, but not incisive sound. The additional C key opens a great variety of tone qualities.

Home
Traversflöten
Reparatur & Restaurierung
Kontakt
Links
Holzblasintrumentenbau Pfretzschner Kronach

English Version

AGB | Impressum



Hotteterre Rippert Naust Rottenburgh Le Cler Grenser  
Denner Eichentopf Quantz Crone Wrede Piccolo

Denner Traversflöte 392 Hz / 415 Hz

ca. 1720

Jakob Denner (Nürnberg 1707 bis 1735) war der älteste Sohn des berühmten Johann Christoph Denner und erlernte bei seinem Vater sein Handwerk. Er war einer der wenigen, dem es gelang, die strenge Nürnberger Zunft-Ordnung zu durchbrechen und als außerordentlicher Meister wegen seiner "Musical. Kunst" zugelassen zu werden. Ohne Wanderjahre und Prüfung !!

Es sind fast 40 von ihm signierte Instrumente erhalten, darunter auch die Flöte in Buchsbaum mit Elfenbein-Ringen im Germanischen Nationalmuseum in Nürnberg. Sie steht original mit dem langen Wechselstück auf 392 Hz und ergibt umgerechnet eine wunderbare 415 Hz-Version mit ausgezeichneter Intonation und farbigem Klangspektrum.



Eine absolute Rarität stellt die herrliche Elfenbeinflöte von Denner im Germanischen Nationalmuseum in Nürnberg dar. Sie ist seit 1945 die einzige noch erhaltene Flöte mit C-Fuß aus dieser Zeit und in jeder Hinsicht ein außergewöhnliches Instrument: Obwohl nach barockem französischem Vorbild dreiteilig gearbeitet, verzichtete Denner bei Kopfstück und Mittelteil auf jegliches barocke Drechselwerk und schuf einen der schlichtesten und zugleich elegantesten Flötenkörper überhaupt. Im Gegensatz dazu "explodiert" das Fußteil förmlich vor barockem Drechsel-Zierrat und weist so auf die "brandneue" Errungenschaft dieses C-Fußes hin.

Klanglich ergibt das viele Elfenbein einen sehr markanten, aber nicht schneidenden Ton, der durch die zusätzliche C-Klappe viele Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten erfährt.