Home
Historical Traversos
Repair & Overhaul Work
Contact
Links
Pfretzschner Kronach Workshop specialising in woodwind instruments

German version

Terms & Conditions | Imprint



Hotteterre Rippert Naust Rottenburgh Le Cler Grenser  
Denner Eichentopf Quantz Crone Wrede Piccolo

Eichentopf Traverso 415 Hz

around 1720

Johann Heinrich Eichentopf (born in Stollberg/Querfurt around 1678, died in 1769 in Leipzig) had an eventful life.
In 1707 he came to Leipzig as a former soldier. He became an "Instrumentalischer Pfeifenmacher" (a woodwind instrument maker), and was mentioned from 1716 to 1757. By renouncing his rights as a citizen he also renounced rights as a master craftsman and stopped making instruments. He moved into the Johannishospital in 1756 (where J. S. Bach had been buried). He died there in the age of 91. It has been reported that Bach had known Eichentopf from his time as Cantor in Koethen. It is said that Bach suggested making an Oboe da Caccia to Eichentopf. Further contacts cannot be proved.

The model for my Eichentopf copy is the only preserved Eichentopf flute, completely made of ivory. It is kept in the (wonderfully restored) Grassi Museum of the University of Leipzig, situated on the grounds of the former Johannishospital. Unfortuantely this instrument has been changed.

According to H. Heyde the obviously rare tuning cork adjusting screw, which goes through the end cap, is an original.

It is considered to be the first of its kind and can be recognised as an invention by Eichentopf – an invention which is built into every modern flute up to the present day.

The flute built by Eichentopf was probably in 392 Hz. Studies and comparative tests have shown that the conical bore is close to Hotteterre and Rippert. The shortening, however, to 415 Hz has made it a superb, all-purpose, late baroque instrument which carries excellently.

Home
Traversflöten
Reparatur & Restaurierung
Kontakt
Links
Holzblasintrumentenbau Pfretzschner Kronach

English Version

AGB | Impressum



Hotteterre Rippert Naust Rottenburgh Le Cler Grenser  
Denner Eichentopf Quantz Crone Wrede Piccolo

Eichentopf Traversflöte 415 Hz

ca. 1720

Johann Heinrich Eichentopf (Stollberg/Querfurt ca. 1678, gestorben Leipzig 1769) führte ein bewegtes Leben.
1707 kam er als "abgedankter Soldat" nach Leipzig und wurde hier von 1716 bis 1757 als "Instrumentalischer Pfeifenmacher" erwähnt. Mit der Niederlegung des Bürgerrechts legte er wohl auch sein Meisterrecht nieder und stellte den Instrumentenbau ein. Er zog 1756 in das Johannishospital (an dessen Kirchenwand schon J. S. Bach begraben lag) und starb dort 1769 im Alter von 91 Jahren. Es wird berichtet, dass J. S. Bach Eichentopf schon aus seiner Köthener Kantorenzeit kannte – er soll Eichentopf den Bau einer Oboe da Caccia vorgeschlagen haben. Weitergehende Kontakte sind unbestätigt.

Die Vorlage zu meiner Eichentopf-Kopie ist die einzige erhaltene Flöte von Eichentopf, ganz aus Elfenbein, und liegt im (wunderbar renovierten) Grassi-Museum der Universität Leipzig – auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Johannishospitals! Leider ist dieses Instrument nicht unverändert geblieben.

Original ist (lt. H. Heyde) wohl die seltene Stimmkork-Stellschraube, welche durch die Abschluß-Kappe hindurch geht. Sie gilt als die erste ihrer Art und kann als Erfindung von Eichentopf betrachtet werden – eine Erfindung, die bis heute in jede moderne Querflöte eingebaut wird.

Die ursprünglich von Eichentopf gebaute Flöte stand wohl in 392 Hz. Untersuchungen und Vergleiche haben ergeben, dass der Innenkonus eng an Hotteterre und Rippert angelehnt ist. Jedoch hat die Verkürzung auf 415 Hz- Größe ein hervorragendes, universell einsetzbares Spätbarock-Instrument ergeben, welches ganz ausgezeichnet trägt.